“Be the best you can be-that is all you can ask of yourself”

In these uncertain times I often think back on how I got to this place and date in my life.

I guess this all goes back to my Mom. Why is this relevant to music?

Being and living the life of an artist in these times is uncertain at the least and extremely challenging at best. It is the lessons learned in childhood that shape how and what you will become later in life.

Mom would use these phrases, among others, to reassure when I had my doubts:

“Be the best you can be-that is all you can ask of yourself”

“Giving is the same as receiving”

” Your talent is a gift-honor that gift-don’t take it for granted”

Mom didn’t really understand music but she did understand people and life.

I’ve had many, many challenges in my life. I’ve had to reinvent myself numerous times, push through my uncertainties and face my fears…all in search of being the best musician I could possibly be. My defense was this: “if I always did my best and it didn’t work out I could walk away from the success or failure with a clear conscience…I could do no more.

Now I can’t say I’ve always been successful…but I will say this: Regardless of whether I reached my goal or not, I have always learned something…maybe not what I expected.

In every situation we are faced with a choice: “Do we just get by? Or do we choose the best solution-regardless of the cost personal or emotional?”

Me? I seem to take the latter rather than former….with out regret. The “easy” way out has not been an option.

The reward? It has always served me well to the “best that I can be”-that is all I can ask of myself.

http://www.chrisboardmanmusic.com
http://www.myspace.com/cbpianoproject

2 comments

  1. soundtrackgeek

    Life is a learning experience no matter how you look at it. I’ve changed a lot over the years and I’m in a good place now and I don’t regret what I have done in my past. It’s all a learning experience and we have to fail to move forward. Failing forward I believe is the term. Keep on learning Chris and be the best that you can be.

    JT

Leave a Reply

